Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2007, 01:04 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
help IT boffins

How the feck do you transfer big files onto a usb memory stick. Can drag and drop 10megs no problem but try a 350mb file and computer goes mental and crashes. What do i do???
__________________

Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 02:28 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Rupert Munro's Avatar
 
Country: England
Location: London
Interests: Extreme Sports, Cars, Boats

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Posts: 503
Send a message via MSN to Rupert Munro
no use to you but my pc does fine transferring any size file to my 2gb usb drive. What system do you use? Also stupid question but is the drive big enough?
__________________

Rupert Munro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 08:27 AM   #3
Traveling
 
Country: UK
Location: Alderholt
Occupation: Aerospace
Boat name: T/T D2S
Boat make: Midas 27' Cat, Argo 16 Cat. Avon Rib Thingy
Engines: Merc 280-ROS -JSRE,65Xs, 75 Stinger, Yam 60
Cruising area: Any Seedy Bar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alderholt
Posts: 4,223
Fine here (Windows XP Pro) drag and drop 6 gig to the stick all the time.
USB 2.0 gives a much better Data Transfer Rate than previous versions. reformat the stick & try it again.
__________________
It is impossible to lick your elbow.

Team25Racing.com

At least 75% of people who read this will try to lick their elbow!
BluFin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 04:22 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
i've done that, works fine at work on xp pro but i only got xp at home does this make a difference?? and if so can i update that part of the software?
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #5
Traveling
 
Country: UK
Location: Alderholt
Occupation: Aerospace
Boat name: T/T D2S
Boat make: Midas 27' Cat, Argo 16 Cat. Avon Rib Thingy
Engines: Merc 280-ROS -JSRE,65Xs, 75 Stinger, Yam 60
Cruising area: Any Seedy Bar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alderholt
Posts: 4,223
Try downloading & installing SP2 (service pack 2) it might make a difference a full blown install of XP Pro will pretty much be a clean install from scratch so losing a lot of whats on ya drive.
__________________
It is impossible to lick your elbow.

Team25Racing.com

At least 75% of people who read this will try to lick their elbow!
BluFin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 10:04 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
got sp 2 already. tis very stupid cus i can copy the same file to my sony digital camera's memory card through the usb lead fine but i cant copy it to the memory stick
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:16 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Toffy's Avatar
 
Country: Belgium
Location: near Ghent
Occupation: engineer
Interests: boating, wakeboarding, snowboarding, fitness
Boat name: Outlaw
Boat make: Phantom 21ft
Engines: Yamaha 200hp
Cruising area: Zele / Kanaal Gent-Terneuzen

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: near Ghent
Posts: 473
You don't need any software driver. XP (both pro or home edition) should recognize your USB stick automatically and assign a drive letter... Data transfer should be no problem at all... So far I'm telling nothing new here...

1/ I would recommend also reformatting the stick. But you said that didn't work.
2/ Try someone elses memory stick... this way you'll know if something is wrong with the stick or your computer... I guess this won't work either... 99% chance something 's wrong with your computer, but these first 2 steps are worth a shot right...?
3/ You could check on your USB controller = a so called hardware driver
Open Device Manager by double-clicking on the System icon in Control Panel, choosing the Hardware tab, and clicking Device Manager. Scroll down to your USB controller. It's my guess you'll see a yellow question mark which means there's something wrong. Update the hardware driver by following the wizards instructions... You can read all about it on http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...devicemgr.mspx

Hope this helps, but I'm far from sure...
Regards, T.
Toffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:35 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
Thanks Toffy, but all my other USB devices work fine. The stick also works perfectly in the office but that is XP Pro. i can transfer a large file to my camera down the USB cable but not to the memory stick. Why?????
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:52 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Toffy's Avatar
 
Country: Belgium
Location: near Ghent
Occupation: engineer
Interests: boating, wakeboarding, snowboarding, fitness
Boat name: Outlaw
Boat make: Phantom 21ft
Engines: Yamaha 200hp
Cruising area: Zele / Kanaal Gent-Terneuzen

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: near Ghent
Posts: 473
This is really a strange problem...
I'll ask my collegues at work, but I doubt to get an answer that's usefull to you ... In the meantime : do try someone elses USB stick on your problem-computer, and post the result...
Greets, T.
Toffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:03 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
The thing is crap, works when it wants to. tried it on 6 XP Pro machines at work and only worked on 2 of them. it was working on mine at work but now it doesn't even see it.
Buy cheap buy twice!!!
So where can a get a decent one from????
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 12:30 PM   #11
The Doc
 
Captain Chaos's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,268
my kingston one is excellent........... although its only a 2gb
Captain Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 12:34 PM   #12
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
I have a few 'dabs value' USB-2 mem sticks. they're as cheap as chips

2 gig is 15 quid inc vat see here: http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0 ,

4 gig is 25 quid inc vat, see it here: http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

and 8 gig is 47 quid inc vat see here: http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

buy a new one, and stamp on the old shitty one, then drive over it, then flush it down the bog. Don't waste any more time on it
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 01:22 PM   #13
Registered User
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,862
Agree with JF, although might be quite good fun to plug it into the mains and see if it explodes.
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:00 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
only just bought the thing off ebay. £11 shite that what i say. Just ordered a 4gig one from that site thanks Jon
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:48 PM   #15
The Doc
 
Captain Chaos's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,268
aha, now i know where its all gone tits up for you!

If you do a google search "ebay USB pens" you'll see some articles about this sorta stuff. Aparantly (and I dont have a fkin clue how) there is a method by which these (generic) pens are formated so that as to appear as if they are (say) 4gb when they are actaually 256mb or similar. They then advertise them as USB 2.0 when they're not & all sorts of shit happens when the customer gets hold of them.
Captain Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 03:04 PM   #16
Registered User
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,862
Yeh, I can see how that would work. Very sneaky.
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 03:44 PM   #17
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
aha, now i know where its all gone tits up for you!

If you do a google search "ebay USB pens" you'll see some articles about this sorta stuff. Aparantly (and I dont have a fkin clue how) there is a method by which these (generic) pens are formated so that as to appear as if they are (say) 4gb when they are actaually 256mb or similar. They then advertise them as USB 2.0 when they're not & all sorts of shit happens when the customer gets hold of them.
Funnilly enough, I was given a 'generic' USB stick the other day (not branded at all), by a friend, it was apparenty a 'return' of some sort, through some retailer or another. It had '4Gig' writen on it. Nice, I thought, but it did exactly as you described, turned out to be a 32meg!!...Kin useless!

I assumed a innocent mistake in the labelling at manufacture, .....but!

So, yet another retail scam. there ya go burty boy, you've been rodgered! ..mind you, didn't you say it worked ok at work on another pc??
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 03:47 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Rupert Munro's Avatar
 
Country: England
Location: London
Interests: Extreme Sports, Cars, Boats

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Posts: 503
Send a message via MSN to Rupert Munro
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
my kingston one is excellent........... although its only a 2gb
I've got one too - great drive and only £12 from Amazon
Rupert Munro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 05:12 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
aha, now i know where its all gone tits up for you!

If you do a google search "ebay USB pens" you'll see some articles about this sorta stuff. Aparantly (and I dont have a fkin clue how) there is a method by which these (generic) pens are formated so that as to appear as if they are (say) 4gb when they are actaually 256mb or similar. They then advertise them as USB 2.0 when they're not & all sorts of shit happens when the customer gets hold of them.

Bollocks!!! Now you mention it the packaging said not 256mb stick only formats to sommat or other.

edit. actually says 2gb on the stick
whatever the reason its just shit and suprise suprise the seller hasnt responded to my email
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:08 PM   #20
hello
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,739
Have you left him feedback yet

Report him to ebay!!!
__________________

JamesM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×