Boatmad.com

Old 31-07-2013, 08:50 AM   #1

Interests: fast boats......
Boat make: phantom 21, Searay 260 Ov
Engines: XR 2, 2 x 4.3 V6
Cruising area: poole bay - solent, where petrol allows

Surface drives or outdrives

I have been looking around to get a bigger craft and was wondering what is it that determines if surface drives are needed instead of outdrives? what are the criteria anyone know?

Old 31-07-2013, 12:23 PM   #2

Interests: boating, wakeboarding, snowboarding, fitness
Boat name: Outlaw
Boat make: Phantom 21ft
Engines: Yamaha 200hp
Cruising area: Zele / Kanaal Gent-Terneuzen

don't know, but I 'd like to follow this thread

Toffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2013, 12:45 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark.saunders View Post
I have been looking around to get a bigger craft and was wondering what is it that determines if surface drives are needed instead of outdrives? what are the criteria anyone know?
I am no expert, but from practical experience there are a lot of pro’s and cons, based on efficiency, maintenance, cost of repair, application and life span. Depends a lot on what type of boat, whether its left in the water and how deep your pockets are..

Stern drives
Good maneuverability. Relatively efficient as can be trimmed to suite conditions and speed. Corrode if boat left in the water, probably 10 year life span if maintained well i.e. cleaned of once a year anti fouled and new anodes. Duo props have better grip, get on the plane quicker but when props corrode or damaged twice as many props to replace. Props can usually be changed whilst boat is still in the water. Single prop drives easy to change if sports boating and changing to suit conditions or activity. Single drive duo prop prevents stern walking and more stable, better turns at speed.

Shafts