Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 28-03-2005, 05:36 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Water exit on Optimax

I have benne running my optimax a couple of time with the "flush-kit" see pic - but i don't get any water coming out of the engine at the exhaust (blue ring)?? It's coming out off two small holes (red rings) on either side of the leg and close to a square thing - is this normal or do I have a major problem??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc02859-1.jpg
Views:	378
Size:	116.5 KB
ID:	3322  
__________________

__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2005, 06:37 PM   #2
Registered User
 
kiwiracer's Avatar
 
Country: New Zealand
Location: Auckland
Occupation: Construction Manager
Interests: Offshore Powerboat Racing
Boat name: NZ Privateer
Boat make: 29ft Catamaran
Engines: 2 x Mercury 300X

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 214
sometimes low water pressure at the hose causes this
does the telltale(blue ring) blow strong in the water?
__________________

kiwiracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2005, 06:42 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Hi Kiwi - haven't tried it in water yet - picked her up friday - but I was hoping for this kind of answer..
thx..
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2005, 08:29 PM   #4
jw.
Registered User
 
jw.'s Avatar
 
Location: Scotland
Interests: Hole maker
Boat make: Humber Ocean Offshore
Engines: KAD 300/DPX

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 954
Using muffs, shurely it should come out of exactly the same places it comes out of normally in the water except, possibly the tick over relief. It's difficult to see in the photo whether it's coming out of the gearcase or just pishing past the muff rubber. I'd check the impeller condition to be safe. You don't want to go and overheat it the first time out.
__________________
JW.
jw. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 07:17 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Tony Davis's Avatar
 
Country: Job Centre
Location: In a box
Occupation: Chaos's gofer
Interests: Skiving
Boat make: Spectre 30
Engines: 2 x Promax 225
Cruising area: In the bath

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In a box
Posts: 5,201
I'd also be tempted to double up on the steering cable, or go hydraulic. A single cable isn't really suitable for your setup!
Tony Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 07:22 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Tony, it is a hydraulic setup..
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 07:25 AM   #7
Traveling
 
Country: UK
Location: Alderholt
Occupation: Aerospace
Boat name: T/T D2S
Boat make: Midas 27' Cat, Argo 16 Cat. Avon Rib Thingy
Engines: Merc 280-ROS -JSRE,65Xs, 75 Stinger, Yam 60
Cruising area: Any Seedy Bar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alderholt
Posts: 4,223
Dare I say looks like a single cable ????
BluFin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 07:26 AM   #8
Traveling
 
Country: UK
Location: Alderholt
Occupation: Aerospace
Boat name: T/T D2S
Boat make: Midas 27' Cat, Argo 16 Cat. Avon Rib Thingy
Engines: Merc 280-ROS -JSRE,65Xs, 75 Stinger, Yam 60
Cruising area: Any Seedy Bar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alderholt
Posts: 4,223
but feel free to add blind feker to my list of ailments
BluFin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 07:41 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
I'm pretty sure it's a hydraulic setup - but you are now confusing me
Will have a marinemecanic install a hydralic one, if it's a single cable, when he's checking the engine as well....
How would a hydraulic setup look like - would it have two cables??
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 09:03 AM   #10
BananaShark Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Occupation: Racer and builder
Interests: Winning races
Boat name: BananaShark
Boat make: BananaShark 34' Race
Engines: Twin Yanmar BY 260's

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Posts: 4,632
It wouldn't have any cables, it would have two hydraulic pipes going to a hydraulic ram.

You should have water coming out of the tell tale at the top, the water pressure would have to be quite low for that not to happen - how long have you run the engine for?

If you look at the instruments you should find a water pressure reading on the tacho side I think?
__________________
Cookee



British Champions! RIB Formula 1 2005
National Speed Record Holder at 90.15 (still)

www.bananasharkracing.com
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 09:39 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
The engine has only been running for 4-5 min..

I do not have a water pressure-meter only an oil-pressure - however i having one installed when the mecanic does the check up and installs the hydraulic steering..

Come to think of it, there waren't any "beebs" before we started it..!!

Hmmm, maybe this wasn't a good deal after all..!!!
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 09:50 AM   #12
BananaShark Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Occupation: Racer and builder
Interests: Winning races
Boat name: BananaShark
Boat make: BananaShark 34' Race
Engines: Twin Yanmar BY 260's

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Posts: 4,632
If it's a Optimax it should come with a tachometer and speedometer, both with small lcd displays capable of showing all sorts of data from the engine. Get the engineer to look at the water issue - it may not be a problem once on the water, but better to be safe than sorry!
__________________
Cookee



British Champions! RIB Formula 1 2005
National Speed Record Holder at 90.15 (still)

www.bananasharkracing.com
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:05 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Quote:
but better to be safe than sorry!
So true so true

Here's my layout..

Red - Speedo
Yellow - Voltmeter
Brown - Fuel
Pink - Hourmeter
Blue - Clock
Green - Tacho
White - Oilpressure
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	layout.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	3330  
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:10 AM   #14
BananaShark Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Occupation: Racer and builder
Interests: Winning races
Boat name: BananaShark
Boat make: BananaShark 34' Race
Engines: Twin Yanmar BY 260's

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Posts: 4,632
Well from the photo it looks like you didn't get the proper instruments with the engine, it might be worth asking where they are as they should come with every engine!
__________________
Cookee



British Champions! RIB Formula 1 2005
National Speed Record Holder at 90.15 (still)

www.bananasharkracing.com
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:12 AM   #15
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Hmmm even the ones from 99?!
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:16 AM   #16
Registered User
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,016
I'd also 'ave a word with the blind geezer who supplied yer instrument bezels too.....
__________________
“Never try to wrestle a pig” ™ The Sparkler Prefect
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:17 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Why??
I quite like em..
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:26 AM   #18
BananaShark Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Occupation: Racer and builder
Interests: Winning races
Boat name: BananaShark
Boat make: BananaShark 34' Race
Engines: Twin Yanmar BY 260's

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Posts: 4,632
Just spoken to someone who knows - In 1999, the "Smartcraft" guages with the digital display was an extra option, the system has been updated since then so later guages won't work either - sounds like you should stay with what you have! A Water pressure guage is also usefull if you ever think of fitting a lifter.
__________________
Cookee



British Champions! RIB Formula 1 2005
National Speed Record Holder at 90.15 (still)

www.bananasharkracing.com
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:32 AM   #19
Registered User
 
Country: Denmark
Boat make: Cobalt 263
Engines: Merc HP500EFI

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 467
Thanks, I thought so..
It does have a jackplate however it's a manuel one - was thinking of putting on a hydraulic one, but it seems now the problems are coming a shore like a tsunami
What is best to add: a water pressure gauge or a cooling-water temperature gauge - or both?? Since i am getting rid of the clock as well - no need for the extra weight
__________________
Lars
"you can't live in the past nor future, only the present - so enjoy the ride"
Lars T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 10:37 AM   #20
BananaShark Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Occupation: Racer and builder
Interests: Winning races
Boat name: BananaShark
Boat make: BananaShark 34' Race
Engines: Twin Yanmar BY 260's

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salcombe South Devon
Posts: 4,632
Water pressure is best - if you lose pressure it will then get hot!
__________________

__________________
Cookee



British Champions! RIB Formula 1 2005
National Speed Record Holder at 90.15 (still)

www.bananasharkracing.com
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×