Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 27-12-2006, 03:55 AM   #1
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Arrow Blurry?

I just got a 19" flat screen HD tv and i have pluggeg it into the computer via s-video but its blurry?
is there anyway i can make it clear?
the tv does have a standard moniter/vga imput so if i dont get any luck with the s-video then i will have to get myself a vga cable.
Cheers guys
Ross.
__________________

RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 06:30 AM   #2
Registered User
 
MrRob's Avatar
 
Country: England
Location: Birmingham
Occupation: Scratching
Interests: Big Dinners
Boat name: Never Enough
Boat make: Seaquel 600xs
Engines: 225hp Merc ProMax
Cruising area: Anywhere! I prefer Weymouth

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,232
Send a message via AIM to MrRob
you need to go into the colour mode setting for the video out put of your graphics card and change it.
__________________

__________________
I got jumper cables!
MrRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 09:30 AM   #3
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
Go with VGA, S-Video is only a small step up from regular composhite video (composite video to you lot)
What is the native resolution of the monitor?
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 11:06 AM   #4
Registered User
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,862
Agree with Jon.
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 11:43 AM   #5
Traveling
 
Country: UK
Location: Alderholt
Occupation: Aerospace
Boat name: T/T D2S
Boat make: Midas 27' Cat, Argo 16 Cat. Avon Rib Thingy
Engines: Merc 280-ROS -JSRE,65Xs, 75 Stinger, Yam 60
Cruising area: Any Seedy Bar

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alderholt
Posts: 4,223
Did this for the eldest over crimbo combined flat plate TV, DV , Audio ect ect.
Just hook up with the VGA cable works a treat. but note the range of resolution & refresh rates as laid out in the TV handbook coz it all goes to pot outside of those ranges.
__________________
It is impossible to lick your elbow.

Team25Racing.com

At least 75% of people who read this will try to lick their elbow!
BluFin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 01:02 PM   #6
1up
Registered User
 
1up's Avatar
 
Country: uk
Location: Bristol area
Occupation: Electrician
Interests: mmm stella
Boat make: 16 reiver
Engines: mercury 125 optimax
Cruising area: Lyme Bay

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol area
Posts: 344
What the f*** has this to do with boats, we have a section called torkin bollox for this kind of crap
1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 02:53 PM   #7
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRob View Post
you need to go into the colour mode setting for the video out put of your graphics card and change it.
have tried, no luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Fuller View Post
Go with VGA, S-Video is only a small step up from regular composhite video (composite video to you lot)
What is the native resolution of the monitor?
not sure really.. it says display resolution is 1440 pixles(horizontal) x900 pixles (virtical)
it says its supports upro 1920x1080 l @59.94Hz/60Hz, 19:9

i think i will jsut get a vga cable and be done with it.
i have also tries phono but thats even shitterer
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 02:58 PM   #8
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
Go with the VGA, and set your pc video card to 1400 x 900 (thats a standard ratio, so your card should list it) no point in running any higher, coz the monitor will just be reducing it again (more processing) to fit it's own display panel.

don't bother with any form of composite vid, it's shite.
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 06:30 PM   #9
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Cheers, just got to find a vga cable now, tried comet and currys today with no luck.
just looked in maplin
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...=SEO&U=strat15
12 quid! will prob get one off ebay there only a fiver on there.
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 06:35 PM   #10
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
If you can wait a few days, these are the cheapest around by far, and they're local to you.
They're not really retail, but i'm sure you could make a cal, pop in & drop some cash.

£2.80+vat for a 2 metre male/male VGA

http://www.connectorco.co.uk/catalogue/video_cables.htm
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 08:07 PM   #11
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
wicked ! cheers for that Jon,
is that the same place as the gokarting?
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 08:11 PM   #12
numbskull
 
Jon Fuller's Avatar
 
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Occupation: none
Interests: none
Boat name: Leviathan
Boat make: Phantom 28
Cruising area: South Coast

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South
Posts: 15,959
Dunno, I've only ever dealt with them via post (plus, I've no idea where the Kart track is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PuppiesBalls View Post
is that the same place as the gokarting?
__________________
.

"I Agree with everything you say really!" - John Cooke to Jon Fuller - 26-01-2013
Jon Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2006, 08:15 PM   #13
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Cool, Cheers anyway dude!!
__________________

RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×