Boatmad.com

Old 04-04-2006, 10:26 PM   #1

Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

bow tanks ???

I am a little new to speedboats (not boats I might add) but just am curious to know how you know how big a bow tank you need. I have a 21ft ring with a Merc 250 (bumped up to a 275) and I have not put it in the water as yet. I am a little concerned that the frikin thing will sink ass first

Anyway I just wondered how you go about figuring out how large a tank you need. Another thing a person told me was that you can use sand bags, good idea??? anyway brill site !!!!

Old 04-04-2006, 10:53 PM   #2

Divertom, Unless you are going to race when the racing tunnel vision kicks in you wont need a bow tank.

Dont use sandbags, as when we were racing many years ago we couldnt understand why we saw one of our competitors going along at about 10mph with the bow sticking up in the air...............

What had happened is that their sandbags which were held in the front had bust during racing and shot to the back of the boat.

Think about the excess weight you are putting into the boat and all the pickups and dumps which will slow you down.

I was offered one for my phantom 21 (I run a 250) and turned it down.

Remember if you stuff, which willl happen there is more weight to drag you further down.

Good luck in your decision

Temporarily Insane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 11:03 PM   #3
Dan
On a roll

Interests: Bristol Rovers, Cider & Boats
Boat name: Aqua Thunder, Badboy
Boat make: Bernico F2, Phantom 21
Engines: Merc 280efi, Merc 260efi
Cruising area: Worldwide

Hi divertom,
Do you use the boat from Plymouth?? If so we`ll have to meet up sometime, I normally go from Mount Batten area if your about. I got a bow tanjk tabs etc etc so you free to have a nose about.
Cheer
Dan
Old 05-04-2006, 11:59 PM   #4