Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2006, 01:12 PM   #1
Registered User
 
divertom's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Plymouth
Occupation: Student numptee
Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 130
hydraulic engine trim question

so I got my hrdraulics sorted thanks to this forum, now I got another problem. The hydraulic trim for the engine right works fine but I need to put the pump inside the boat tidily. Ok so to do that I need to put the hydraulic hoses through some holes, this intern means I need to disconect the hoses. So because the weight of the engine is on the ram underneathe the engine the pressure in the hoses will be the same, how do I disconnect the hoses without hydraulic fluid pissing all over the place????? I did try to take the weight off too with a wedge and that did not seem to work.
The other question I got is that if I was to not really care too much about the fluid and let it piss out and relief the pressure if air gets in does it flush air through the ram and into the pump so I can bleed from the pump?

P.S I am really taking advantage of this forum its sweet all the knowledge of the world resides in this forum booya
__________________

__________________
If practice makes perfect and nobodys perfect then why the hell practice!!!!
divertom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 02:13 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
trim ya engine right in.
disconnect hoses from pump( you will loose some fluid but don't worry about it)
mount pump where u want it
re connect hoses
refill pump with fluid (dont put filler bung / dip stick back in yet)
trim right up as far as she will go it may take a while as the air is bleeding out of the system.
trim right back down
trim right back up
right back down
check fluid level top up again if necessary
put bung back in
clean up mess you have made
job done
__________________

Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 05:49 PM   #3
Registered User
 
divertom's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Plymouth
Occupation: Student numptee
Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 130
cool, once I got my marine ply to mount it on I will do that. Cheers for the info
__________________
If practice makes perfect and nobodys perfect then why the hell practice!!!!
divertom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:07 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Country: Norway
Occupation: Electrician, High Voltage
Interests: Boats, dirtbikes
Boat make: Hydrolift T20
Engines: Mercury 2.5EFi 260

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
The Merc Oildyne pump

is "self-bleeding" as mentioned above by Burty, I have two in my boat, one for the engine and on for the Stainless Marine jack, I have dissasembled them several times and never had any problems with air in the system, just run the engine all the way down like burty said.
And keep an eye on the oil-level while running the system again when assembled, make sure the pump don`t use up all the oil in the oiltank so it sucks air and you`ll be fine, it will foam alot in the tank when running it up and down, but that is just the trapped air coming out of the system....Good luck!
HydroT20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 09:58 AM   #5
Registered User
 
divertom's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Plymouth
Occupation: Student numptee
Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 130
that would be good if I could see the resevoir but unfortunately its sealed I am at this very moment trying to find out actually how to replace the oil :P I have undone it now and it all seems ok but its just the question of how to fill it :P
__________________
If practice makes perfect and nobodys perfect then why the hell practice!!!!
divertom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 10:20 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
prolly a black plastic headed screw on top of the resevoir maybe between where the hoses go, when it comes out it will have a pointy thing on the end this is the dip stick
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 11:11 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Country: Norway
Occupation: Electrician, High Voltage
Interests: Boats, dirtbikes
Boat make: Hydrolift T20
Engines: Mercury 2.5EFi 260

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Here you go..

thought a picture would help...As Burty said, a black-plastic screw between the oil-lines..I used a cleaned ut Ketchup-bottle with ATF-oil and an 6mm pneumatic-hose/line attached to it,to squise the oil trou since Mine is located all the way in the back towards the transom-hard to get to..Hope it helps..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	133(small).jpg
Views:	171
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	8170  
HydroT20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 03:54 PM   #8
Registered User
 
divertom's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Plymouth
Occupation: Student numptee
Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 130
cool, well I got the hoses done with the help of you all, thankyou, and I do see a small cap screw between the hoses, I will perouse later to see if its what I need to take off to fill the bugger Also do you know what oil goes in it ????
__________________
If practice makes perfect and nobodys perfect then why the hell practice!!!!
divertom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 06:36 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
i put jack oil in mine
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 08:48 PM   #10
Registered User
 
divertom's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Plymouth
Occupation: Student numptee
Interests: Lots of stuff
Boat name: Rough Rider
Boat make: 21ft ring
Engines: Mercury 275hp

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 130
cool I will prob do the same as it is the stuff for the job
__________________
If practice makes perfect and nobodys perfect then why the hell practice!!!!
divertom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 11:28 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Country: Norway
Occupation: Electrician, High Voltage
Interests: Boats, dirtbikes
Boat make: Hydrolift T20
Engines: Mercury 2.5EFi 260

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
...........

In the specs from Oildyne it says use ATF oil or any clean hydraulic oil with viscosity range of 150-300SSU att 100deg. F....

I went with the ATF...work just fine.
__________________

HydroT20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×