Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 17-04-2006, 07:10 PM   #1
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Arrow Hydraulic Valve???

Is there anyway we can put valves on a hydraulic pump so we can opperate boath jack and trim on 1 pump ?
__________________

RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2006, 11:30 PM   #2
hello
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,739
You may be able to do it using a pair of DCV's (Directional Control Valves) to switch between the two rams but two trim pumps would be alot better and there not that expensive. Plus you wouldn't be able to trim and jack at the same time.
__________________

JamesM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2006, 11:36 PM   #3
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
we have 4 pumps at the moment(not yet fitted), but is we could use 2 pumps and put valves in them, then we will have lost the weight of 2 hyd pumps!
i have been looking google at a hydraulic solanoid valve, would these work?just have a T peice on each of the inlet/outlets on the pump and have 4 of these valves....? would this work?
what is the psi of the pumps?
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2006, 11:56 PM   #4
The Doc
 
Captain Chaos's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,265
wouldt it be easier to mount the pumps on the deck uprights and run the hoses down the portside
Captain Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2006, 11:57 PM   #5
hello
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,739
What type of valves are you talking about. You would need valve's that can take a feed and send it in one direction or the other. Then you would need to switch a pair of them at the same time so the pump is connected to either the jack or the trim. I've no idea what pressure they opperate at. You could have a look at the hoses as it may say the max working pressure on them, then use that figure to spec your valves.

As your trim and jack ram's arent balanced you may have a situation where the pump reservoir isn't big enough (as its only designed to accomodate one un-balanced ram) and could therefore either run dry or overflow.

Personally I'd use the pumps as the manufacturer(s) intended.
JamesM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 12:00 AM   #6
The Doc
 
Captain Chaos's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,265
and at the end of the day.................whats a pump (or pair of) actually weigh?
Captain Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 12:10 AM   #7
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
This is what i ment .....works in theory?.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	right tab.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	8268  
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 12:24 AM   #8
Registered User
 
RossM's Avatar
 
Boat make: Phantom 23

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via MSN to RossM
Quote:
Originally posted by Johnny Boat Dude
As your trim and jack ram's arent balanced you may have a situation where the pump reservoir isn't big enough (as its only designed to accomodate one un-balanced ram) and could therefore either run dry or overflow.
Bennett tabs and rams have 1 pump for 2 rams.
Bennett tabs also have single acting cylinders ,meaning there is only oil being pushed into the cylinder not drawn out, Burty had 4 rams on 1 pump so when his tabs were boath up then wouldent the oil over flow, as its twice the amount of oil going into the reservior as it had been designed have???
so i think we could get away with it because they are double acting cylinders so most of the oil returns, there isnt as much of a volume difference from the top of the stroke to the bottem as there would be on a single acting cylinder?
RossM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 07:38 AM   #9
hello
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,739
Quote:
Originally posted by PuppiesBalls
Bennett tabs and rams have 1 pump for 2 rams.
Bennett tabs also have single acting cylinders ,meaning there is only oil being pushed into the cylinder not drawn out, Burty had 4 rams on 1 pump so when his tabs were boath up then wouldent the oil over flow, as its twice the amount of oil going into the reservior as it had been designed have???
so i think we could get away with it because they are double acting cylinders so most of the oil returns, there isnt as much of a volume difference from the top of the stroke to the bottem as there would be on a single acting cylinder?
Burty's original ST16 tabs came from Bennet with 4 rams and one pump so the reservior was designed to accomodate 4 rams.
JamesM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 07:38 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Tony Davis's Avatar
 
Country: Job Centre
Location: In a box
Occupation: Chaos's gofer
Interests: Skiving
Boat make: Spectre 30
Engines: 2 x Promax 225
Cruising area: In the bath

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In a box
Posts: 5,201
Quote:
Originally posted by PuppiesBalls
Bennett tabs and rams have 1 pump for 2 rams.
Bennett tabs also have single acting cylinders ,meaning there is only oil being pushed into the cylinder not drawn out, Burty had 4 rams on 1 pump so when his tabs were boath up then wouldent the oil over flow, as its twice the amount of oil going into the reservior as it had been designed have???
Nope, Bennett Sports Tabs have 4 rams, and use exactly the same pump as the 2 ram models!
__________________
Chaos for Moderator.
Tony Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 07:51 AM   #11
Registered User
 
MrRob's Avatar
 
Country: England
Location: Birmingham
Occupation: Scratching
Interests: Big Dinners
Boat name: Never Enough
Boat make: Seaquel 600xs
Engines: 225hp Merc ProMax
Cruising area: Anywhere! I prefer Weymouth

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,232
Send a message via AIM to MrRob
Seems like a whole load of efford just to save a few kg.
__________________
I got jumper cables!
MrRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 08:51 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
I'm almost sure it won't work as you wont have a large enough reservoir those trim rams take alot of fluid
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 01:16 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Burty's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Weston Super Mare
Occupation: Electrical Engineer

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weston Super Mare
Posts: 6,351
Send a message via AIM to Burty
TD, Jon what a great idea why dont you both convert your pump so one pump works both engines / drives cus it would save weight.
So what if you can only trim one motor at a time it'll be ok
Burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 01:26 PM   #14
hello
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,739
Yuo could trim and jack at the same time using the t piece arangment but it would be rather slow and I guess the pump may not be able to supply the required volume and pressure for both rams at the same time so it may not work at all.
__________________

JamesM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×