Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 21-11-2016, 06:50 PM   #1
Registered User
 
swiftsam12's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Mercury 90hp 2stroke no spark no1 cylinder

I have a mercury 90hp that has lost spark on no 1 cylinder i have swapped coils round and no1 still has no spark, ive fitted a new switch box with no cure.
Checked wiring from switch box to coils .
My question is do these outboards run on 2 cylinder at idle speed until revs are brought up like the bigger 2stroke mercs ?
Would a faulty stator only stop 1 cylinder from sparking?
It has the newer type red stator on it which has 2 green and white wires which go into a black module and two yellow wires comming from it going to the regulator
Any help would be brilliant
__________________

swiftsam12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2016, 12:34 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Country: uk
Location: salcombe
Occupation: semi retired
Interests: racing(middle east class 3 6l)
Boat name: still no worries
Boat make: phantom18
Engines: 2.5 efi
Cruising area: salcombe

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: salcombe
Posts: 497
Stator

Hi
You can swap two wires on the switch box, if the problem stays on number one it's the switch box/ coil/plug lead/plug cap/plug, if it moves it's the stator.
Hope this helps
__________________

still no worries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2016, 07:56 AM   #3
Registered User
 
swiftsam12's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Ok thanks so its the wires from the switch box to the coil that i can swap round to rule out switch box coil and leads? Im guessing it will through the firing order out but will rule out all of the above ?
Thanks
swiftsam12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2016, 05:44 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Country: uk
Location: salcombe
Occupation: semi retired
Interests: racing(middle east class 3 6l)
Boat name: still no worries
Boat make: phantom18
Engines: 2.5 efi
Cruising area: salcombe

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: salcombe
Posts: 497
If you switch two from the stator to the switch box and the problem stays in the same place it's the switch box
still no worries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2016, 06:10 PM   #5
Registered User
 
swiftsam12's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Sorry to be a pain theres two white and green wires that come from the Stator which then go into the black module thing which ends up only 1 blue wire going to the switch box :-/
swiftsam12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×