Boatmad.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2015, 08:52 PM   #1
Registered User
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 47
Trim solonoid power

Hi

Does any one know how much current the standard trim solonoids use to actuate?

I have just bought a some steering control buttons to operate the trim, jack plate and K planes the outputs are 8 amps per channel so just need to know if they can operate directly or they need a 40 amp relay on each?

My multi metre only does up to 10 amps and don't want to let the smoke out of the box lol

Cheers
Si
__________________

Toger13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 10:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
OCRDA's Avatar
 
Country: UK
Location: Devon
Occupation: Garage Proprietor
Interests: PowerBoat Racing
Boat name: If Only
Boat make: Bernico F3 OCR, Bernico Prototype Inboard, and some Ribs
Engines: Yamaha Pro V 115
Cruising area: UK, France

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Devon
Posts: 3,092
Certainly should be less than 8a !
__________________

__________________
If Only
National Outboard Immersed Propeller Mono Record 103mph
OCRDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 07:06 PM   #3
Registered User
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 47
Ye that's what I though but looking at all the wiring diagrams it appears to have a 20amp blade fuse in the system

Si
Toger13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 04:03 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Wayne Kerr's Avatar
 
Country: England
Location: Crayford, Kent.
Occupation: Electrical gezza!
Interests: Petrolhead
Boat name: Wayne Kerr
Boat make: Phantom xl
Engines: Mercury 2.5, 200(ish)
Cruising area: Essex, Hampshire, Mediterranean

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Crayford, Kent.
Posts: 1,178
You'll only be switching the coil of the solenoid, so mA.
Wayne Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2016, 03:56 PM   #5
Registered User
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 47
Just in case anyone else needs to know I got my multimeter out today and tested this found the trim motor solenoids to draw 1.7A and the K plane solenoids to draw 1.8A so well with in my 8A controllers I have no idea why Mercury fit a 20A fuse in the circuit lol

Thanks
Si
Toger13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.