Boatmad.com

Old 26-05-2011, 10:18 PM   #1

evinrude 235 ? any info

Hi guys, I have found a 235 evinrude outboard for sale on ebay for £400, seller claims it has not been started for some 6 years, says it turns over by hand no probs and only known fault is an oil seal on bottom 0f leg, would this be a safe buy and what potential problems could I be looking at,model is E235 TRLCNE. (1982) sounds cheap ??

davey0476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 10:22 PM   #2

Interests: Boats , bikes!
Boat name: Renegade
Boat make: GPV-RENEGADE
Engines: 150 HO etec
Cruising area: Thames, south coast, anywhere!

They drink fuel like you would not believe, my mate had a 150 VRO and that was bad enough, best check that you can still get spares for it before you commit to buying.

All the best
Paul

Old 26-05-2011, 10:31 PM   #3

Cheers

yeah I thought so, I'm just on the brink of buying my first boat, I'm a mechanical engineer by trade so dont mind a bit of work, but still dont know whether to buy a ready built boat or even what kind, first I fancied something like a p 18 or r 16 but now have found myself looking at other things which have inboard mercruisers as some say they are a lot more economical, and then theres the budget, only wanting to spend around £1500 to £2000 for my first boat,
Old 26-05-2011, 10:45 PM   #4

If i'm 100% honest, get a ready to run rig, i think you will struggle to get what i would call a good running rig for that money.
My suggestion would be a P16 but that is just my opinion, as i love them,with a 90hp of some description the best balanced outfit. What ever motor you decide to get please do some homework on parts.

Good luck
Paul
Old 26-05-2011, 10:53 PM   #5

Interests: Boats, Jetski's, Wake Boarding
Boat name: Lord of the Rings
Boat make: Ring 21C
Engines: Mariner 2.5 200 V6
Cruising area: Solent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade View Post