Boatmad.com

Go Back   Boatmad.com > Boat Mad | Tech > Technical Q&A
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 26-08-2009, 11:38 AM   #1
Pat

First post - and of course it has to be about prop choice!

Nothing like the sort of boats or engines you boys are running, but you seem pretty shit-hot on the technical stuff and I'm new to it!
I have a Fletcher 13ft Arrowsport with a mid-80s Yamaha 50hp on the back. Existing prop is 11 1/4 x 14. Boat weighs about 250kg, engine about 80.
With one or two people on board it goes up on the plane well, and shifts fast enough once up there (fairly smooth lake). With one person on board it'll sometimes ventilate/cavitate for a second or two if I give it full throttle from a standing start, and then settle down and sit on the plane happily. Anti-Cavitation plates are about even with the bottom of the hull. A pair of Doel fins are on it.
The real problem comes when I have a heavy load on board, say 4 people (a tight squeeze!). The boat won't go up on the plane at all, it just ploughs through the water. No power t/t yet, though I have one ready to be fitted - it's currently set with the manual trim pin on the second hole out.
Now to the unexciting part. By happy coincidence I managed to clip one of those floating rocks the other weekend, so now I have to either pick up a new/recon prop or have the existing one repaired.
Any guesses as to my best bet, so that I can still get up on the plane 4-up, but not totally kill off my top speed with just me in it? Or is it simply the case that I don't have enough power altogether and it'll never plane under a heavy load? (although Fletcher quote a max of 40hp for the hull).

Open to any and all suggestions. I don't have a tach (one on the way from the states), and obviously there's no point taching it now with the beaten to death prop!

Apologies for the lengthy post, I just have no idea what sort of pitch/diameter prop would be my best bet!

Cheers,

Pat.