Boatmad.com

Old 27-09-2006, 01:21 AM   #1

Interests: powerboating & ice hockey
Boat name: marex for this year
Boat make: wonky shed cowdron
Engines: twin merc 250 opti xs
Cruising area: southcoast & europe

Constructive Criticisms of UK racing

I am new to Powerboat Racing and know probably very little.

However I would like to make some observations, opinions & ideas public, so as to encourage a usefull & constructive debate.

For the sport to grow & flourish you need to attract sponsors. To do this you need to attract & encourage Joe public to come & watch the races in large numbers. Powerboat racing has a definite problem, that is the spectator is basically limited by only viewing from the land.

Race Course Setting:

Every effort should be made to set courses where boats can be seen for the maximum amout of time by the shore spectator.

Why do we continue using multi-lap courses?

The multi-lap course has 2 problems...1stly the general spectator has no idea of the course layout or order. Therefore after 1 or 2 laps (especially multi-class race also) spectators have no idea what is going on & race positions are almost impossible to follow.
This leads to spectator confussion and subsequent lack of interest. To encourage Joe public to become a fan, the sport needs to make things as simple & as easy to follow as possible.
2ndly multilap courses are dangerous, to have a number of boats converging on 1 turn bouy from 2 or 3 directions at once is madness. I can't think of anyother motor sport that does this (I'm sure someone will correct me though).
So why the multilap course? I'm told, its to give the navigator something to do. GPS has made navigating easy (I know I should not say that..re LH, but shit in GPS means shit out). If you make the courses more visible from shore, that may mean a shorter lap,
this leads to boats being closer together. This means the navigator should be real busy as lookout & strategist. Cowes 150 honda racing a good example.