Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-04-2009, 09:45 PM   #1
225's Avatar
Country: Uk- Cambridge/Hertfordshire
Location: Hometown: Hertfordshire
Occupation: Retail Manager
Interests: Motorsport

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hometown: Hertfordshire
Posts: 469
Fazza Fastest!

Season looks like its going to be a good one, Last years winning boat now in a new livery "Fazza 3" named after Victory Team Chairman HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum was the quickest but only just. I think the new livery looks awesome . report below.

Thursday, 23 April, DOHA (Qatar): The first official practise session of the WPPA/UIM Class 1 World Powerboat Championship season took place in Doha, Qatar, today with the Victory and Qatar Teams dominating proceedings. Yet with the top three posting lap times just three tenths of a second apart, the potential winners of the first race and the championship as a whole is no clearer than it was prior to the boats being put in the water.

Last year’s World Champion Nadir Bin Hendi and 2007 Champion Arif Al Zafeen struck the first blow in their newly named Fazza 3. The partnership, which charged to victory on this course last year before Al Zafeen’s racing injury, set the early pace and as they posted ever faster lap times they could not be caught by the chasing pack, finishing with a time of 02.44.17. "I have been waiting a long time to make my comeback, after 11 months out of the boat. Driving is my dream, so I’m very happy to be back," said Al Zafeen about his return to Class 1 racing.

A return to Qatar and the site of their spectacular crash in 2008, Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor Al- Thani and Steve Curtis took until their third and final lap to post their best time of 02.44.32 to go second quickest in their rebuilt raceboat, Qatar 96. Steve Curtis said: "We are here to win, we need to dial in the boat again and we can go faster still."

Whilst team-mates Abdullah Al-Sulaiti and Matteo Nicolini, who ended the session third with a 02.44.50, look determined to have an even more successful season than 2008. "We are looking to win the 2009 championship and to win our home grand prix will give our crew great motivation for the rest of the season, said Abdullah Al-Sulaiti "Reliability is the most important thing this season, but we have what it takes to get there."

Jean-Marc Sanchez, tasked with bringing through another rookie after his huge success in the last two seasons, and Mohammed Al Mehairi posted times just a few seconds off the pace with a time of 02.47.54 to go fourth fastest, with last season’s European Champion Jorn Tandberg, throttling the Welmax boat, reunited with his 2007 partner Christian Zaborowski, completing the top five ahead of tomorrow’s Edox Pole Position, posting a time of 02.48.59.

Maritimo Australia produced a mixed start to their 2009 season; Maritimo 11’s Tom Barry-Cotter and Pal Virik Nilsen thought they had hit some serious trouble when a fire alarm went off on their out lap. It turned out to be a false alarm and they went on to post the sixth fastest time of the session with a 02.50.70, taking four seconds of their pervious flying lap. Whilst team mates Peter McGrath and relative newcomer Giorgio Manuzzi, failed to complete a lap after their drop box pressure started to fluctuate.

Aurantium’s Giovanni Carpitella and Christian Rivolta posted their best time of 02.53.96 on their first lap, but were unable to better that in their subsequent two laps. Giampaolo Montavoci, alongside his new driver Francesco Pansini who is back in Class 1 after a 13-year absence, were off the pace in their first session together in the Forest & Suardi Roscioli Hotels raceboat, posting a fastest lap time of 03.05.56 on day one of the weekend. Whilst Giorgioffshore’s Nicola Giorgi and Riccardo Calugi endured a frustrating start to the season after electronic problems prevented them from getting in the water.


1. Fazza 3 - A Al Zafeen (UAE) / N Bin Hendi (UAE) – 02.44.17
2. Qatar 96 - H Al-Thani (QAT) / S Curtis (GBR) – 02.44.32
3. Qatar 95 - A Al-Sulaiti (QAT) / M Nicolini (ITA) – 02.44.50
4. Victory 1 - M Al Mehairi (UAE) / JM Sanchez (FRA) – 02.47.54
5. Welmax 90 - C Zaborowski (NOR) / J Tandberg (NOR) – 02.48.59
6. Maritimo 11 - T Barry-Cotter (AUS) / PV Nilsen (NOR) – 02.50.70
7. Aurantium 10 – C Rivolta (ITA) / G Carpitella (ITA) – 02.53.96
8. Foresti & Suardi - Roscioli Hotels 8 - F Pansini (ITA) / G Montavoci (ITA) – 03.05.56
9. Maritimo 12 - G Manuzzi (SMR) / P McGrath (NZL) – DNS
10. Giorgioffshore 18 – R Calugi (ITA) / N Giorgi (ITA) – DNS
225 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.